Related Websites and Useful Resources

Below, we provide information about websites and resources that may be useful for researchers and students in this field. As it is unlikely to be comprehensive despite our best efforts, we request researchers to inform us about websites and resources that they believe should be included.

Websites and resources known to have at least some English content are asterisked.*

Websites

Children and Youth in History: https://chnm.gmu.edu/cyh/ *

East Asia Image Collection, Lafayette College: http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/eastasia *

Enikki ni yoru jidō sokai 600-nichi no kiroku: http://www.h5.dion.ne.jp/~s600days/

Great Kanto Earthquake, University of Hawaii at Manoa: http://digicoll.manoa.hawaii.edu/earthquake/index.php *

Hiroshima Archive: http://hiroshima.mapping.jp/index_en.html *

Japan Air Raids: http://www.japanairraids.org/ *

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (National Archives of Japan): http://www.jacar.go.jp/english/index.html *

Japan Oral History Association: http://joha.jp/

Mie-ken Heiwa Shiryōkan: http://www.pref.mie.lg.jp/fukushi/heiwa/

MIT Visualizing Cultures: http://ocw.mit.edu/ans7870/21f/21f.027/home/index.html *

National Archives of Japan Digital Archive: https://www.digital.archives.go.jp/index_e.html *

Museums

Museums whose exhibits directly relate to childhood or education, 1900-1945

Irufu Doga Museum, Okaya: http://www.ilf.jp/english/ *

Kyoto Municipal Museum of School History: http://kyo-gakurehaku.jp/guide/english.html *

Shitamachi Museum, Tokyo: http://www.taitocity.net/zaidan/english/shitamachi/ *

Museums whose exhibits are related to general social history, 1900-1945

Edo-Tokyo Museum:  https://www.edo-tokyo-museum.or.jp/en/ *

Hataya Kinenkan, Yumeōre Katsuyama: http://www.city.katsuyama.fukui.jp/hataya/index.php

Okaya Silk Museum, Nagano Prefecture: http://silkfact.jp/

The Osaka Museum of Housing and Living: http://konjyakukan.com/index.html

Tomioka Silk Mill, Gunma: http://www.tomioka-silk.jp/tomioka-silk-mill/

Museums whose exhibits are related to conflict and war, 1931-1945

Center of the Tokyo Air Raids and War Damage: http://www.tokyo-sensai.net/english_page/index.html *

Himeyuri Peace Museum, Okinawa: http://www.himeyuri.or.jp/EN/info.html *

Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum: http://www.pcf.city.hiroshima.jp/index_e2.html *

Kyoto Museum for World Peace, Ritsumeikan University: http://www.ritsumei.ac.jp/mng/er/wp-museum/english/index.html *

Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Museum: http://nagasakipeace.jp/english/abm.html *

National Showa Memorial Museum (Showakan), Tokyo: http://www.showakan.go.jp/ *

Okinawa Prefectural Peace Memorial Museum: http://www.peace-museum.pref.okinawa.jp/english/index.html *

Osaka International Peace Center (Peace Osaka): http://www.peace-osaka.or.jp/ *

Peace Aichi, Nagoya: http://www.peace-aichi.com/index.html

Saitama Peace Museum: http://www.saitama-peacemuseum.jp/publics/index/29/

Shizuoka Heiwa Shiryō Sentā: http://homepage2.nifty.com/shizuoka-heiwa/

Wadatsumi no koe Kinenkan: http://www.wadatsuminokoe.org/home

Other Archives and Resources

Japanese Juvenile Fiction Collection, University of Pennsylvania: http://dla.library.upenn.edu/dla/print/search.html?sort=date_facsimile_added_sort%20desc&showall=sort&fq=facsimile_facet%3A%22Yes%22%20AND%20collection_facet%3A%22Japanese%20Juvenile%20Fiction%20Collection%22

Naruto University of Education Library Special Collections: http://www.naruto-u.ac.jp/library/shiryo/

Nihon Jibunshi Sentā, Aichi: http://www.kasugai-bunka.jp/jibunshi